Constitution and administrative structure of Slovakia

National level. Slovakia has a unicameral parliament (National Assembly) with 150 seats, which is elected every four years. The head of state is elected every five years directly by the people. Since the 2001 reform of the regional tier of government in the run-up to EU accession, a step-by-step transfer of competencies to the newly created regions has taken place.

Regional level. Slovakia consists of eight regions (kraje) that since the regional reform constitute self-governing entities. The Regions of Bratislava and Trnava are CENTROPE partners. Regional development, spatial planning, environmental protection and education are just some of the autonomously enacted competencies of the regions. Moreover, the regional administrations, similar to the subordinated district offices, are partly responsible for the execution of central state tasks at the local level, e.g. in the fields of tourism, education, traffic and transport management, land regulation and environmental affairs.

Local level. At the local level, Slovakia is subdivided into 79 districts (okresy) and 2,930 municipalities (obce). In addition to the partial implementation of central state functions, the municipalities also dispose of self-government competencies, e.g. concerning the administration of assets or the levying of local taxes.